Home » Blog » ICC World Test Championship Final: India v/s New Zealand

ICC World Test Championship Final: India v/s New Zealand

The inaugural version of the ICC World Test Championship Final will take place from June 18 – 22 at the Rose Bowl stadium in Southampton. Here’s how the two top teams, India and New Zealand made there way here and the complete squad details.

indian test cricket team
image source: sportsadda.com

ICC Test Championship Tournament

This inaugural version of the championship started in August 2019 with the Ashes series and the last series was the series between India and England, after which India and New Zealand qualified for the Finals.

World Championship Points Table

New Zealand played a total of 5 series in the ICC World Test Championship and won 7 matches and lost 4 matches. Indian on the other hand had the most wins with 12 matches wins (including the most memorable series victory in Australia led by Ajinkya Rahane.

Points Distribution for World Test Championship

ICC world Championship Points Table
image credit : ICC

India finished on the first spot in the ICC World Test Championship points table with 72.2 %. New Zealand is the second team on the points table with 70%.

Here’s how the points were distributed based on the number of matches in each series.

Matches in SeriesWin PointsDraw PointsTie Points

Two Crucial Series Wins for India

India had two consecutive series wins with the first in Australia where they defeated the Aussies 2-1 in the four-match series with the last test being won in the last half-hour of play with the India team severely lacking in experience. The next series was against England at home where India easily beat the English team 3-1.

India at Southampton

India has lost both the matches that they have played at the Rose Bowl stadium.

Test#SeasonIndia CapEng CapScoreResult
32014-2015MS DhoniAlastair CookEng 569/7 and 205/4 – India 330/10 and 178/10England won by 266 runs
42018-2019Virat KohliJoe RootEng 246/10 and 271/10 – India 273/10 and 184/10England won by 60 runs

As far as the stats of this venue are concerned, a total of 6 Test matches have been played here so far. Out of these 6 games, 2 games have been won by the team batting first while one game has been won by the team batting second. The average 1st innings score at this venue is 337 runs while the average second innings score is 280 runs.

India v/s New Zealand Test Stats

Head-to-head v/s the kiwis, India have a decent record, but seamers coming into play at a neutral venuw it might an advantage for the Kiwis with Trent Boult known to use teh ball welll in swinging conditions. The last series was won by New Zealand in 2020.

YearSeriesCityIndia CapTeam2 CapResult
2020New Zealand v India – 2nd TestChristchurchVirat KohliKane WilliamsonNew Zealand won by 7 wickets
2020New Zealand v India – 1st TestWellingtonVirat KohliKane WilliamsonNew Zealand won by 10 wickets
2016India v New Zealand – 3rd TestIndoreVirat KohliKane WilliamsonIndia won by 321 runs
2016India v New Zealand – 2nd TestKolkataVirat KohliRoss TaylorIndia won by 178 runs
2016India v New Zealand – 1st TestKanpurVirat KohliKane WilliamsonIndia won by 197 runs

India Test Squad

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha.

New Zealand Test Squad

New Zealand’s squad: Kane Williamson (Captain), Rachin Ravindra, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Tom Blundell, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Tom Latham, Daryll Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Mitchell Santner, Ajaz Patel, Doug Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Will Young.

The live streaming of ICC World Test Championship Final 2021 will be available on Disney+Hotstar in India.

1 thought on “ICC World Test Championship Final: India v/s New Zealand”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *