Home » Blog » India vs Australia T20, ODI and Test Series Complete Schedule

India vs Australia T20, ODI and Test Series Complete Schedule

The battle for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy starts from December 17, 2020. India are the current holders after beating Australia in the last series Down Under in 2018-19. The tour begins with a day-night encounter at the Adelaide Oval on December 17.

india-australia-test series-2020-21
image source: insidesport.co

The Pink Ball Test will be followed by Tests at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Sydney Cricket Ground, and at the Brisbane cricket ground, Gabba. The Adelaide fixture will be the first day-night Test played between Australia and India, adding historic significance to the series between two of cricket’s greatest rivals. The complete schedule is given below:

1st ODI: November 27: Sydney Cricket Ground (8.30 AM)

2nd ODI: November 29: Sydney Cricket Ground (7.30 AM)

3rd ODI: December 2: Manuka Oval, Canberra (8.30 AM)

1st T20I: December 4: Manuka Oval, Canberra (12.30 PM)

2nd T20I: December 6: Sydney Cricket Ground (1.30 PM)

3rd T20: December 8: Sydney Cricket Ground (1.30 PM)

1st Test: December 17-21: Adelaide Oval (D/N, 9.30 AM)

2nd Test: December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (5 AM)

3rd Test: January 7-11: Sydney Cricket Ground (5 AM)

4th Test: January 15-19: The Gabba, Brisbane (5.30 AM)

India Test, ODI and T20 Squad

Test Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav.

ODI Squad: Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul (vc and wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal.

T20 Squad: Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul (vc and wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Mayank Agarwal, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy.

India v/s Australia 2018-19 Test Results

YearSeriesCityIndia CapTeam2 CapResult
2019Border-Gavaskar Trophy – 4th TestSydneyVirat KohliTim PaineMatch drawn
2018Border-Gavaskar Trophy – 3rd TestMelbourneVirat KohliTim PaineIndia won by 137 runs
2018Border-Gavaskar Trophy – 2nd TestPerthVirat KohliTim PaineAustralia won by 146 runs
2018Border-Gavaskar Trophy – 1st TestAdelaideVirat KohliTim PaineIndia won by 31 runs

Warm-Up Matches

In addition to the international fixtures, Cricket Australia also confirmed dates for tour matches ahead of the Test series. India A will take on Australia A at Drummoyne Oval (December 6-8), and India will play Australia A in a day-night match at the Sydney Cricket Ground (December 11-13).

Day/Night Test

While coming to Tests, India and Australia have never lost a day-night Test previously, with Australia winning all four twilight Tests in Adelaide against New Zealand, South Africa, England and Pakistan, and India winning its only encounter at Eden Gardens against Bangladesh in 2019.

Test / ODI Rankings

Australia is currently ranked No 1 on the ICC Test standings, however India will be buoyed by the knowledge it has won three of the previous four series against Australia, including a first ever series win on Australian soil in 2018-19.

India also hold a slight edge over Australia in the 50-over format with a 12-10 win-loss record against them over the past five years. Australia are ranked No. 1 in the ICC’s T20I rankings and posted a thrilling 2-0 away series win over India last year. India, however, hold a 5-4 advantage over Australia in its past 10 T20I matches.

“Across all three formats, Australia and India represents one of the great rivalries in world sport and we are delighted to welcome Virat Kohli’s outstanding squad to Australian shores this summer. We have worked closely with the BCCI for many months to bring this tour to life, and I cannot speak more highly of the professional, thorough and collaborative manner with which they have approached this tour in these extraordinary and complex times”.

Nick Hockley, CA’s Interim Chief Executive Officer

India will arrive in Sydney on November 12 subject to Australian Border Force travel authorisation and the appropriate departure-approvals. The team will quarantine in Sydney prior to the first match of the series on November 27.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *