Home » Football » I-League



The inaugural edition of the National Football League (NFL) was held in 1996-97 and I-League started from 2007-08 with the inaugural season won by Dempo Sports Club.

The season runs from January to May on a double-header system where each team has to play Home and Away games.

Currently known as Hero I-League, the competition works on a system of relegation and promotion with the bottom teams relegated to I-League 2nd Division. It was announced by AIFF (All India Football Federation) recently that from 2017-18 season, the league will be called League One and will be the second important level of the football structure with the first being ISL.

2014-2015 Season

The 2014–15 I-League was the eighth season of the I-League and  the season began on January 17, 2015, after the conclusion of the Federation Cup and finished on the 31 May 2015 with the title deciding match between defending champions Bengaluru FC and Mohun Bagan and the championship was won by Mohun Bagan by two points.

11 Teams participated in the 2014-2015 season.

2014-2015 Results

2014-2015 Rankings

2015-2016 Season

The 2015-2016 season commenced on 9 January 2016, after the Indian Super League finished, and concluded on 24th April 2016.

Bengaluru FC won their second I-League title and the defending champions Mohun Bagan finished second. This season saw the entry of two new teams Aizawl (through promotion from I-League 2nd Division) and DSK Shivajians (direct entry).

Total of 9 teams participated in this season

2015-2016 Results

2015-2016 Rankings