Home » Blog » IPL 2022 Playoffs: RCB move closer to the final after beating LSG in the Eliminator due to a superlative effort by Rajat Patidar

IPL 2022 Playoffs: RCB move closer to the final after beating LSG in the Eliminator due to a superlative effort by Rajat Patidar

Lucknow Super Giants did the correct thing by opting to bowl first in wet and clammy conditions as chasing would be easier. But little did they expect Rajat Patidar to blow them away with his maiden IPL century.

image credit: sports.ndtv.com

IPL 2022 Eliminator: LSG vs RCB

The day clearly belonged to Rajat Patidar (112* off 54 balls) as he was in sublime form with the ball racing off his bat making the sweet sound of the perfect contact. The drives, flicks and swiveling sixes were a treat to watch. On a day where batsmen like Virat Kohli (25 off 24 balls) and Dinesh Karthik (37* off 23 balls) struggled with timing, Patidar’s knock becomes more impressive.

RCB plundered 85 runs off the last 30 balls to out a massive total of 207/4. LSG fielding also were not upto the mark with a couple of dropped catches – one of Dinesh Karthik which the captain couldn’t hold on at mid-off and the other was of Patidar’s catch in deep mid-wicket when he was on 79.

For Lucknow Super Giants, KL Rahul (79 off 58 balls) put a good fight with support from Deepak Hooda (45 off 26 balls) but none of the other LSG batters could match upto the scoring rate.

In the end Josh Hazelwood’s (3 wks for 45 runs) bowling turned out to the heart-breaker for Lucknow.

LSG vs RCB Match Scorecard

Ist Innings

RCB 1st Innings Batting
Virat Kohlic Mohsin Khan b Avesh Khan252420
Faf du Plessis (c)c Quinton De Kock b Mohsin Khan0100
Glenn Maxwellc Evin Lewis b Krunal Pandya91001
Mahipal Lomrorc K L Rahul b Ravi Bishnoi14920
Dinesh Karthik (wk)not out37*2351
Rajat Patidarnot out112*54127
Extras: ( nb 1, w 9, b 0, lb 0, pen )10
Total: 207/4 in 20 overs

LSG 1st Innings Bowling
Ravi Bishnoi4.045111.25
Mohsin Khan4.02516.25
Krunal Pandya4.03919.75
Avesh Khan4.044111.00
Dushmantha Chameera4.054013.50

2nd Innings

LSG 2nd Innings Batting
Quinton de Kock (wk)c Faf Du Plessis b Mohammed Siraj6501
Krunal Pandyac & b Josh Hazlewood0100
KL Rahul (c)c Shahbaz Ahmed b Josh Hazlewood795835
Manan Vohrac Shahbaz Ahmed b Josh Hazlewood191112
Deepak Hoodab Wanindu Hasaranga452614
Marcus Stoinisc Rajat Patidar b Harshal Patel9901
Dushmantha Chameeranot out11*411
Evin Lewisnot out2*600
Extras: ( nb 0, w 15, b 5, lb 2, pen )22
Total: 193/6 in 20 overs

RCB 2nd Innings Bowling
Josh Hazlewood4.043310.75
Wanindu Hasaranga4.042110.50
Mohammed Siraj4.041110.25
Harshal Patel4.02516.25
Shahbaz Ahmed4.03508.75

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *