Home » Blog » From 2008 to 2019, some amazing Stats from the IPL Seasons

From 2008 to 2019, some amazing Stats from the IPL Seasons

MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma have the unique record of playing in all editions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) and have scored half-centuries in all editions.

MS Dhoni-Chennai Super Kings- IPL
image source: sportszwiki.com

The Following players have played in all the editions of the IPL from 2008-2019

Batsman in all IPL
Virat Kohli541211337.85131.61
Suresh Raina5368100*33.34137.15
Rohit Sharma4898109*31.6130.82
Shikhar Dhawan457997*33.42124.8
MS Dhoni44328442.21137.85
AB de Villiers4395133*39.95151.24
Robin Uthappa43688728.74130.62
Dinesh Karthik365497*27.07129.8
Yusuf Pathan320410029.13142.97
Parthiv Patel28488122.6120.78

MS Dhoni

Even though there are 10 players who have played as batsman for their teams only 3 have the unique distinction of scoring at least 1 fifty in every edition of the IPL – MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma.

Even though Virat Kohli has impressive stats and run scoring ability in IPL (5 centuries and 36 fifties), it hasn’t had an impact on Royal Challengers Bangalore. In contrast Chennai Super Kings have mastered the art of getting into playoffs and playing the big matches well.

IPL – Fifty In Every Played Season

These batsman have scored at least one fifty in all the seasons that they have played in the IPL. The players who have played minimum of 3 seasons have been listed here:

Fifty Scored in every IPL (min 3 seasons)
Suresh Raina121895368138100*33.34137.15
Rohit Sharma121834898136109*31.6130.82
David Warner10126470644412643.17142.39
MS Dhoni1217044320238442.21137.85
Gautam Gambhir1115242170369331.24123.88
Ajinkya Rahane101303816227105*33.47122.46
Sachin Tendulkar678233411310034.84119.82
Rahul Dravid682217401175*28.23115.52
Dwayne Smith675210301787*29.62134.21
Adam Gilchrist6802069211109*27.22138.39
Faf du Plessis66318450129631.81126.8
Rishabh Pant454173611112836.17162.7
Matthew Hayden3321107089336.9137.52
Nitish Rana4411085088529.32134.62
Lendl Simmons3281071111100*41.19126.9
Rahul Tripathi333758049326.14137.32
Sam Billings318334035618.56135.77

IPL Bowling – Lasith Malinga

Malinga with his unorthodox bowling action and his uncanny ability to hit the stumps whenever required has really done wonders for IPL and his team. He is one of the few bowlers who have done very well in all editions of the IPL.

Bowlers who Played in all IPL
Amit Mishra15724.1719.757.35
Piyush Chawla15027.1520.837.82
Harbhajan Singh15026.3522.417.06
Dhawal Kulkarni8527.9920.328.27
Yusuf Pathan4233.6927.317.4

IPL – 10 Wks in Every Played Season

Bowlers have really made an impact in IPL and this should not come as a surprise. In Indian wickets, where batsman can really put their foot forward and hoick the ball – it puts extra pressure on the bowlers. So the only way out was to innovate – slow bouncers, cross seam slow bowls, carrom balls are really the result of the bowlers trying to even the playing field in the IPL. For the last couple of seasons the team with the better bowling unit came up as trumps.

The following bowlers have taken 10 wickets in every IPL season that they have played (minimum 2 seasons)

10 wks in every season of IPL (min 2 seasons)
Lasith Malinga9122471.11706119.816.637.14
Yuzvendra Chahal682293.51002022.8417.637.78
Shane Warne454199571025.3920.957.27
Rashid Khan346182550021.6919.856.55
Mitchell Starc22696.4341020.3817.067.19
Jofra Archer22181.5260023.6918.887.56

Lasith Malinga is the only bowler who has played in 9 seasons and has accounted for 10 wickets in every season and is the overall highest wicket taker with 170 wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *