Home » Football » Indian Super League

Indian Super League

The Indian Super League (ISL) is one of the top tournaments in India along with the I-League. The ISL is franchise based system with eight teams participating in the tournament. ISL 2017-18 saw the addition of two new teams Jamshedpur FC and Bengaluru FC. The season usually runs from October to early December, but due to the addition of teams the season in 2017 ran from Oct 2017 to Mar 2018 maiing it a long and much required 5 months league. ISL is now in its fifth year since it’s inception in 2014.

2019-20 Champions: ATK

2018-19 Champions: Bengaluru Football Club

2017-18 Champions: Chennaiyin Football Club

2016 Champions: Atlético de Kolkata (now ATK Club

2015 Champions: Chennaiyin Football Club

2014 Champions: Atlético de Kolkata (now ATK Club)

ISL Teams

ClubCityHome Ground
Atlético de KolkataKolkataSalt Lake
Chennaiyin Football ClubChennaiJawahar Lal Stadium (Chennai)
Delhi Dynamos Football ClubDelhiJawahar Lal Stadium (Delhi)
Football Club GoaMargaoFatorda Stadium
Kerala Blasters Football ClubKochiJawahar Lal Stadium (Kochi)
Mumbai City Football ClubMumbaiDY Patil Stadium
NorthEast United Football ClubGuwahatiIndira Gandhi Stadium
Football Club of Pune CityPuneShree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex Stadium

2017-18 additional two teams

ClubCityHome Ground
Jamshedpur Football ClubJamshedpurJRD Tata Sports Complex
Bengaluru Football ClubBengaluruSree Kanteerava Stadium

2019-20 Two new teams

ClubCityHome Ground
Hyderabad FCHyderabadG.M.C. Balayogi Athletic Stadium
Odisha FCBhubaneshwarKalinga Stadium

2019-20 – FC Pune City and Delhi Dynamos are not part of the season