PBL 2017 Semi Final and Final

PBL 2017 Semi-Finals and Final Results. Premier Badminton League (PBL) 2017 saw an amazing exhibition of badminton from the top 4 teams. The results of the Semi-Finals and Finals are covered here.

PBL 2017 Champions – Chennai Smashers

The much awaited clash between PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal was the most anticipated one. In terms of team performance Awadhe Warriors with 21 points was the first team to qualify and Mumbai Rockets with 19 points had a very consistent performance to qualify for the Semis.

Hyderabad Hunters was the last team to qualify for the top four and Carolina Marin had a lot of pressures going into the semis. Chennai Smashers had the capability to cause upsets and had some good combination sin the Adcock pair, Sindhu, Kolding, Kashyap

Let’s see how the story unfolded!


Semi-Final 1: Jan 13, 2017


           awadhe warriors logo         V/S   chennai smashers logo

DDA Siri Fort Sport Complex, Delhi


  • The opening match was won by the Awadhe pair as the Adcocks looked slightly off-color. In spite of wining the first set , the Adcocks lost their way and gave up the third set easily.
  • The next match saw P. Kashyap playing flawlessly and on top of his game to even the score by winning 11-4, 11-6 against Vincent Wong Ki
  • The third match saw a brilliant Kidambi Shrikanth take on Tommy Sugiarto in style. The first game was a closely contested affair with Kidambi finally winning with a smash at 12-10
  • The much awaited encounter between Saina and Sindhu saw everybody at the edge of their seat. pv-sindhu-vs-saina-nehwal-pbl2017The see-saw affair saw an amazing rally of 48 points with Sindhu finally getting the net winner.
  • Saina lack of 100% fitness was quite evident as there were some cross court drops and smashes that she wasn’t able to pick , eventually the Sindhu won in straight sets.
  • The last match saw teh offensive pair of Smashers against the defensive pair of Warriors. Eventually in a short format the brilliant smashes of Chris Adcock and Mads Kolding sealed the fate of the Warriors
Match Category  Awadhe Warriors Score Chennai Smashers Win
1 XD  Bodin Issara /  Savitree Amitrapai  9-11, 11-8, 11-5 Chris Adcock / Gabby Adcock  awadhe warriors logo
2 MS  Wong Wing Ki  4-11, 6-11 Parupalli  Kashyap  chennai smashers logo
3 MS Kidambi Srikanth  14-12, 11-7 Tommy Sugiarto  awadhe warriors logo
4 WS Saina Nehwal  7-11, 8-11 P.V. Sindhu (T)  chennai smashers logo
5 MD Goh V Shem /  Markis Kido (T)  3-11, 10-12 Chris Adcock / Mads Kolding  chennai smashers logo

WS =Women’s Singles; MS = Men’s Singles; XD = Mixed Doubles; WD = Women’s Doubles; MD = Men’s Doubles

(T) – Trump Match

Chennai Smashers win 4-1 against  Awadhe Warriors 


 Semi-Final 2: Jan 13, 2017

    mumbai rockets logo        V/S         hyderabad hunters logo

DDA Siri Fort Sport Complex, Delhi


  • PV-Sindhu-marin-pbl2017Semi-Final 2 saw the re-match of one of previous encounters between Sung Ji Hyun and Carolina Marin. As always Marin had control and took the first set 11-6 and then fortunes turned out brilliantly for Sung-ji Hyun. The korean played brilliantly with a lot of patience and control to outwit Marin and after a intense game of rallies which saw Marin make a lot of unforced errors. Eventually Sung-Ji Hyun came out on top and made a mark in this PBL 2017.
  • With a Trump loss, it was always going to be difficult for the Hunters to recover .
  • The second match saw Prannoy’s brilliant exhibition to defeat Sameer Verma and continue his unbeaten run.
  • The second set came close but the Hunters lost out eventually and they lost 3 – (-1). The other matches in this tie was cancelled.
Match Category Mumbai Rockets Score Hyderabad Hunters  Win
1 WS  Sung Ji Hyun 6-11, 11-6, 11-5 Carolina Marin (T)  mumbai rockets logo
2 MS  HS Prannoy (T) 11-8, 15-13 Sameer Verma  mumbai rockets logo
3 MS  Ajay Jayaraman   NA Rajiv Ouseph
4 XD Sanjana Santosh / Chirag Shetty   NA Hoi Wah Chau / Sai Raj
5 MD Yong Dae Lee / Nipithphon P   NA Boon Heong Tan / Wee Kiong Tan

(T) – Trump Match

Mumbai Rockets win 3-(-1) against Hyderabad Hunters


Final: Jan 14, 2017

     chennai smashers logo           V/S        mumbai rockets logo

DDA Siri Fort Sport Complex, Delhi


  • In the first match of the final the Adcock pair for Smashers played amazingly well with Gabby Adcock leading the way and winning the Trump match easily.
  • The second game saw the match between Sindhu and Sung Ji Hyun and it was an amazing game of sindhu-sung-ji-hyun-pbl2017exhibition badminton. The first set started out evenly with both the players playing long rallies with the score tied at 6-6. The defining moment came after a long rally of 36 pints which turned out in Sindhu’s favor. After that it Sindhu in control and Sung Ji Hyun trying to get back. But PV Sindhu stamped her class with a 11-8, 11-8 victory in the Final.
  • It was a fitting Finale where it went down to the last match between Ajay Jayaraman and Tanongsak. Even though Ajay won the first set, it was the experience and skills of Tanongsak that gave Chennai Smashers the title in PBL 2017.
Match Category Mumbai Rockets Score Chennai Smashers  Win
1 MS  Nipithphon P / Nadiezda Zieba 9-11, 6-11 Chris Adcock / Gabby Adcock (T)  chennai smashers logo
2 XD  Sung Ji Hyun 8-11, 8-11 P.V. Sindhu  chennai smashers logo
3 MS Yong Dae Lee / Nipithphon P   (T) 12-10, 11-6 Chris Adcock / Mads Kolding  mumbai rockets logo
4 MS  HS Prannoy 11-4, 8-11, 11-8 Parupalli  Kashyap  mumbai rockets logo
5 MS  Ajay Jayaraman 9-11, 11-7, 11-3 Tanongsak S  chennai smashers logo

(T) – Trump Match

Chennai Smashers are the PBL 2017 Champions 

PBL 2017 Complete Fixtures
PBL 2016 Schedule and Results


Leave a Reply