Home » Latest Sports News

India vs Sri Lanka Live Score Updates, 3rd ODI at Colombo: Shaw, Samson stitch fifty-run partnership

This article was originally published in FirstPost.com

74 (74) R/R: 5.84

Shikhar Dhawan (C) 13(11) S.R (118.18)

FOUR! Shaw is finding those gaps at will. Gets down again and slo sweeps it from outside off through square leg for another powerful four.

FOURS!They are looking to attack Jayawickrama. Shaw at first gets down and slog sweeps it over mid-wicket for a four and then pulls one slightly short delivery behind square leg for two in a row.

After 14 overs,India 87/1 ( Prithvi Shaw 35 , Sanju Samson (W) 32)

Dananjaya has been bowling well. He's adjusting his lengths according to batsmen's movements and not giving them much to manouver. It's a decent over, just four runs off it. There was one ball which stayed low and Samson got his bat down at the last moment to defend it.

Dananjaya continues...

After 13 overs,India 83/1 ( Prithvi Shaw 34 , Sanju Samson (W) 29)

Another decent over for India. Jayawickrama didn't get his lines right off the first three balls. He was a touch wide. Samson hit one of them for a four. He then drifted one down the leg side for a wide. The SL spinner though bounced back to concede just a single off the last three balls. 7 off the over.

FOUR! Nicely done from Samson. It's flighted outside off from the left-arm spinner, Samson charges down the track and lofts it over extra cover.

Jayawickrama into the attack now

After 12 overs,India 76/1 ( Prithvi Shaw 33 , Sanju Samson (W) 24)

India are going at over six an over. And it's been easy for these two batsmen - Samson and Shaw. They milk five singles in the over. Dananjaya has been mixing it up well though and creating some doubts in the mind of the batsmen who are a bit cautious. Still, the SL bowlers don't look threatening. They need another wicket. 

After 11 overs,India 71/1 ( Prithvi Shaw 30 , Sanju Samson (W) 22)

It was turning out to be a good over. Karunaratne had bowled four dots and given away just a single. But then he dropped short outside off, Samson pulled it through mid wicket for a four. 5 runs off the over. An odd boundary coming every over for India.

FOUR!Short from Karunaratne, Samson pulls it powerfully through mid-wicket, it hits one of the crows on the field and slows down but still trickles to the fence. Thankfully no damage done to the bird.

OUT! Chameera strikes! It's full outside off, and tailing away. Dhawan goes for a booming drive but ends up getting an outside edge to the keeper. Sri Lanka needed that early breakthrough as Dhawan had started off in an ominous fashion.

Toss: Well, there is excitement in the Indian camp, as Shikhar Dhawan has finally won the toss and elected to bat. Dhawan himself celebrated with his trademark kabaddi-style celebration after winning the toss. Good fun. Shikhar Dhawan informs that India have made six changes. Dasun Shanaka informs of three changes in the Sri Lankan team.

Chances galore...

Well, the news from out in the middle is that there will be five debutants for India in the 3rd ODI - Sanju Samson, Nitish Rana, Chetan Sakariya, K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar

India vs Sri Lanka, 3rd ODI Cricket Match Highlights Ind vs SL Live Score Updates: Dananjaya has been bowling well. He's adjusting his lengths according to batsmen's movements and not giving them much to manouver. It's a decent over, just four runs off it. There was one ball which stayed low and Samson got his bat down at the last moment to defend it.

Preview, 3rd ODI: Pressure will be massive on the home team in the third and final IND vs SL game today after suffering defeats in the first T20 ODIs. India will aim to make it 3-0 clean sweep against the hosts Sri Lanka. The two teams will take on each other at R Premadasa stadium in Colombo. India have already sealed the series with a thrilling last-over win in the second ODI at the same venue.

Deepak Chahar scored a maiden half-century batting at No. 8 to guide India to a three-wicket win over Sri Lanka on Tuesday in the second one-day international and an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

Batting first after winning the toss, Sri Lanka made a competitive 275 for 9 in 50 overs. In reply, India reached 277 for 7 with five deliveries to spare.

India vs Sri Lanka Live Cricket Score Ind vs SL 2021 today 2nd ODI match ball by ball commentary latest Updates

India lost seven wickets for 193 runs during their chase and looked in danger of defeat but Chahar paired with Bhuvneshwar Kumar (19 not out) for an undefeated 84-run stand for the eighth wicket to ensure victory.

Chahar, playing only his fifth ODI, remained unbeaten on 69 off 82 deliveries with seven boundaries and one six.

Earlier, Chahar also shone with the ball taking two wickets for 53 runs in eight overs in Sri Lanka’s innings and was named player of the match. Kumar took 3-54 off 10 overs.

Suryakumar Yadav also made his maiden ODI half-century for India. His 53 runs off 44 deliveries included six boundaries.

It was Sri Lanka’s 10th successive ODI series loss to India as hosts.

Sri Lanka’s leg spin bowler Wanindu Hasaranga had impressive bowling figures of 3-37 off 10 overs.

Charith Asalanka also made his maiden ODI half-century earlier for Sri Lanka, scoring 65 runs including six boundaries.

Leg spin bowler Yuzvendra Chahal had the best bowling figures for India, taking 3-50 off 10 overs.

Coming into the third and final game of the series, the Lankans would be aiming for a better show and finish the series on a high. They came very close to winning the second ODI but lack of experience and ability to handle nerves in the crunch final moments of the game meant they fell short of the winning mark.

The weather may play a spoilsport in the third ODIwith showers expected throughout today in Colombo.

Keep tuned in to our blog for IND vs SL live score.


Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka(w), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha, Akila Dananjaya, Isuru Udana, Ramesh Mendis, Lahiru Kumara, Asitha Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Udara, Shiran Fernando, Ishan Jayaratne

India: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krishnappa Gowtham, Nitish Rana, Navdeep Saini, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy, Devdutt Padikkal, Chetan Sakariya, Sanju Samson

With inputs from AP